Louisiana's Justice of the Peace: 1892

page 8

No. 8. AN ACT To create the offices of justice of the peace and constable for the Ninth ward of Claiborne parish.

Approved June 20, 1892.

page 9

No. 10.  AN ACT Creating an additional justice of the peace in the First ward, parish of St. James.

Approved June 20, 1892.

page 10

No 13. AN ACT To repeal all that portion of act 33 of 1879 creating the Third Levee District, and to create a new district, to be known and styled “The Lafourche Basin Levee District:” to define the limits of said district and specify the property subject to taxation, local assessment and contribution; to provide for appointment of commissioners, the qualifications, mode of removals and filling vacancies, salaries of commissioners and officers; to constitute said commissioners as a levee board styled “The Board of Commissioners for the Lafourche Basin Levee District;” to make the said board a body politic, in- vested with corporate powers and having a corporate seal; to fix the mode, time and place of meeting; to designate a quorum for the transaction of business; to provide for the organization and government of said board; to define its duties and powers, and to provide certain prohibitions; to regulate legal proceedings by and against said board, and to fix its domicile; to require a record of its proceedings to be kept and published; to provide a mode of certifying to copies of said records, and to establish their admissibility and weight as evidence; to require said board to provide rules and regulations for the construction and maintenance of levees, and to establish a comprehensive levee system within said district; to prescribe the duties of the State Engineers in relation to said board; to provide a revenue for levee purposes; to authorize the levy of a forced contribution or special assessment on cotton, sugar, rice, syrup, molasses and esculents produced upon the lands subject to taxation under the provisions of this act; to require the levy of a ten mill tax oil all property subject to taxation, and prescribe the duties of assessors tax collectors, Auditor and State Treasurer in reference thereto; to authorize the board, under certain circumstances to levy a special assessment or contribution on lands and railroads in said district and providing for its collection; to grant certain lands for levee purposes, and prescribe the duty of the Auditor in relation thereto; to exempt said lands from taxation until sold by the board; to authorize the board to mortgage and sell said lands and apply the proceeds to levee pur- poses; to authorize the board to issue and negotiate its bonds; to provide the mode of issuing, securing and paying same, and for enforcing payment in case of default; to authorize the board to buy, to sell, to make contracts for building, repairing and maintaining levees, and to pay for same in bonds or otherwise; to fix the proportion of the general engineer fund to be allotted to said district and prescribe the duty of the Board of Engineers in reference thereto; to provide for the care and police of the levees, and to authorize the board to appoint inspectors and watchmen and in certain cases to call out road hands to work on levees; to provide compensation therefor; to provide penalties for neglect of hands to serve; to provide the mode of depositing, keeping and disbursing of all funds of the board; to specify by whom and in what manner warrants shall be drawn against the said funds; to define misappropriations of funds and property of the board by president, commissioner or officer, and provide a penalty therefor; to put this act in force and repeal all laws in conflict here with.

Approved June 20, 1892.

page 18

No. 14. AN ACT To repeal all that portion of act 33 of 1879, creating the First Levee District, and to create a new district, to be known and styled “The Lake Borgne Basin Levee District;” to de- fine the limits of said district and specify the property subject to taxation, local assessment and contribution; to provide for appointment of commissioners, the qualifications, mode of removals and filling vacancies and salaries of commissioners and officers; to constitute said commissioners as a levee board styled “The Board of Commissioners for the Lake Borgne Basin Levee District;” to make the said board a body politic, invested with corporate powers and having a . corporate seal; to fix the mode, time and place of meeting; to designate a quorum for the transaction of business; to provide for the organization and government of said board; to define its duties and powers, and to provide certain prohibitions; to regulate legal proceedings by and against said board, and to fix its domicile; to require a record of its proceedings to be kept and published; to provide a mode of certifying to the copies of said records, and to establish their admissibility and weight as evidence; to require said board to provide rules and regulations for the construction and maintenance of levees, and to establish a comprehensive levee system within said district; to prescribe the duties of the State engineers in relation to said board; to provide a revenue for levee purposes; to authorize the levy of a forced contribution or special assessment on cotton, Sugar, rice, syrup, molasses and esculents produced upon the lands subject to taxation under the provisions of this act; to require the levy of a ten-mill tax on all property subject to taxation, and prescribe the duty of assessors, tax collectors, Auditor and State Treasurer in reference thereto; to authorize the board under certain circumstances to levy a special assessment or contribution on lands and railroads in said district, . and providing for its collection; to grant certain lands for levee purposes, and prescribe the duty of the Auditor in relation thereto; to exempt said lands from taxation until sold by the board; to authorize the board to mortgage and sell said lands and apply the proceeds to levee purposes; to authorize the board to issue and negotiate its bonds; to provide the mode of issuing, securing and paying same, and for enforcing payment in case of default; to authorize the board to buy, to sell, to make contracts for building, repair- ing and maintaining levees, and to pay for same in bonds or otherwise; to fix the proportion of the general engineer fund to be allotted to said district, and prescribe the duty of the Board of Engineers in reference thereto; to provide for the care and police of the levees, and to authorize the board to appoint inspectors and watchmen, and in certain cases to call out road hands to work on levees; to provide compensation therefor; to provide penalties for neglect of hands to serve; to provide the mode of depositing, keeping and disbursing all funds of the board; to specify by whom and in what manner warrant shall be drawn against the said funds; to define misappropriations of funds and property of the board by president, commissioner or officer, and provide a penalty therefor; to put this act in force and repeal all laws in conflict herewith.

Approved June 21, 1892.

page 29

No. 18. AN ACT Creating an additional justice of the peace and constable for the Fourth ward of East Feliciana parish.

Approved May 22, 1892.

page 34

No. 24 AN ACT To create an additional justice of the peace and constáble for the First ward, parish of Cameron.

Approved June 28, 1892.

page 37

No. 28. AN ACT. To amend and re-enact section No. 955 of the Revised Statutes of 1870.

Approved July 1, 1892.

page 81

No. 58. AN ACT To create an additional Justice of the Peace and Constable for the first ward of the Parish of St. Mary.

Approved July 6, 1892.

page 85

No. 64. AN ACT Creating an additional Justice of the Peace ad Constable for the seventh ward of Sabine Parish.

Approved July 6, 1892.

page 95

No. 74. AN ACT To create the Caddo Levee District of the State of Louisiana; To provide for the appointment by the Governor of a Board of Commissioners to govern the same; to authorize the said Board to levy, assess, and collect a tax or a local assessment or forced contribution; authorizing the levy, assessment and collection of an ad valorem tax on all the property with- in the District; the levying and collection of a specific tax on each acre of land in the District, and a certain tax or assessment on each bale of Cotton or other product of the soil raised in the said District; authorizing the assessment and collection of a tax upon each mile of rail-road within the said District; authorizing the said Board to provide for the fixing of rules and laws for the government of the Levee - District; authorizing the issuing of bonds; pledging the revenues of the said District to the payment of said bonds, interest, and other moneys to be borrowed in pursuance of the provisions of this Act; authorizing and requiring the levying of taxes for the payment of the interest and principal of the same; providing for a sinking fund for the redemption of the bonds; authorizing and empowering the Board to borrow money for the use of the Board and author. izing the Mortgage or pledge of the property and things of value including the revenues, for the payment of the amount so borrowed; donating to the Levee District certain lands in the District belonging to the State, and prescribing the duties of the State Board of Engineers in connection herewith.

Approved  July 6, 1892.

page 102

No. 75. AN ACT Creating an additional justice of the peace and constable for Ward Eight (8) Union parish, La.

Approved July 6, 1892.

page 103

No. 77. AN ACT To create an additional justice of the peace for the Tenth Ward of the parish of Concordia.

Approved July 6, 1892.

page 106

No. 80.  AN ACT To create an additional Justice of the Peace and Constable for the fifth Ward of the Parish of Calcasieu, and to provide for the appointment of the same.

Approved July 6, 1892.

No. 81. AN ACT Creating an additional Justice of the Peace and Constable in the Tenth Justice Ward Parish of Ascension, and defining the jurisdiction and emoluments thereof.

Approved July 6, 1892.

page 107

No. 82.  AN ACT Creating an additional Justice of the Peace and Constable for the 4th ward of Calcasieu Parish.

Approved July 6, 1892.

page 113

No. 89. AN ACT To create the Bossier Levee District of the State of Louisiana, To provide for the appointment by the Governor of a Board of Commissioners to govern the same; to authorize the said Board to levy, assess, and collect a tax or a local assessment, or forced contribution; authorizing the levy, assessment and collection, of an at valorem tax on all the property within the District; the levying and collection of a specific tax on each acre of land in the District, and a certain tax or assessment on each bale of cotton or other product of the soil, raised in the said District; authorizing the assessment and collection of a tax upon each mile of railroad within the said district; authorizing the said Board, to provide for the fixing of rules, and laws for the government of the Levee District; authorizing the issuing of bonds; pledging the revenues of the said District to the payment of said bonds, interest, and other moneys, to be borrowed in pursuance of the provisions of this act; authorizing and requiring the levying of taxes for the payment of the interest and principal of the same; providing for a sinking fund for the redemption of the bonds; authorizing and empowering the Board, to borrow money, for the use of the Board, and authorizing, the mortgage or pledge of the property and things of value, including, the revenues, for the payment of the amount so borrowed; donating to the Levee District, cer. tain lands in the District belonging to the State and pre- scribing the duties of the State Board of Engineers in connection herewith.

Approved July 6, 1892.

page 132

No. 101. AN ACT Creating an additional Police Jury Ward in the Parish of Acadia which shall be known and designated as the Sixth Police Jury Ward of said Parish.

Approved July 7, 1892.

page 142

No. 110. AN ACT To encourage, protect, regulate and develop the oyster industry of the State of Louisiana; to define the rights of riparian proprietors in oyster beds and fisheries on their water front; to provide for the leasing of oyster lands belonging to the State; to provide for the taxation of oyster grounds and their produce, and the capital invested in oyster fisheries; for the licensing, registration and designation of vessels en- gaged therein; to provide for the punishment of persons depredating on oyster grounds; establishing a close season for the fishing of oysters grown in this State; to authorize the police juries of the several parishes in which oyster lands are situated; to pass ordinances to carry out the provisions of this act; to provide for the appointment of an oyster inspector for each of said parishes; to define his duties and powers and fixing his salary; and imposing penalties for violations of this act.

Approved July 7, 1892.