Skip to main content

Resources for Self-Represented Litigants: Get More Help

This guide offers helpful information to Louisiana self-represented litigants (people who represent themselves in court without an attorney) including help finding legal information, resources, and referrals.

Looking For Help?

If you are looking for help with your legal issues and still aren't sure where to go after checking out these resources, you can call the Law Library of Louisiana at 504-3102400 or toll-free in Louisiana at 800-820-3038 for more assistance. If you want to hire a lawyer, the Louisiana State Bar Association can provide you with referrals, including those that will provide reduced-cost services, through their "Modest Means Directory." If you can't afford a lawyer, you may qualify for free civil legal aid. You can apply online to see if you qualify.

Some people who do not qualify for free civil legal aid may still qualify for free "virtual" legal advice and assistance online at LA.FreeLegalAnswers.org. It is a new service run by the Louisiana State Bar Association, where Louisiana attorneys answer legal questions online. Only civil legal questions, no criminal, and you must income-qualify. 

The Legal Education and Assistance Program (LEAP), a partnership between the Louisiana State Bar Association, the Law Library of Louisiana, the Louisiana Library Association, and the LSU Law Library, also provides referral and form information, by parish. Check their website for more information. 

*This resource guide is updated frequently. However, if you notice something is wrong or not working, or any resources that should be added, please notify the editor at svpic@lasc.org. Thanks!

Click on a Tab to Find Statewide Legal Information, Assistance & Forms

Click on a tab in this box to find statewide legal information, assistance, and forms. 

Arts Council Of New Orleans - Entertainment Law Legal Assistance Project (ELLA)
Tulane Law School interns assist supervising attorney Ashlye Keaton in delivering legal services. Appointments for legal help are open to qualified members of the Arts Council, or the Music Office Co-Op. Intake phone 504-523-1465, fax is 504-529-2430, email alphonse@artsneworleans.org. Website includes a collection of resources for managing a nonprofit and a “Before You Sign a Contract” tutorial. 
Louisiana Law Help
Automated forms for modification of child support and provisional custody by mandate for use in all Louisiana district and family courts.
American Civil Liberties Union of Louisiana
Accepts cases regarding violations of the First Amendment, Discrimination, Police Practices, and Prisoner’s Rights. For more information, call 504-522-0617 or 866-522-0617.
Justice and Accountability Center
Organizes expungement clinics and provides support to people seeking expungements and post-conviction relief. The Clean Jacket App is available for free and helps determine if a person is eligible and gives referrals to attorneys. Contact 504-345-8911.

Innocence Project
Assists prisoners who are factually innocent for the crime they were convicted of. Prisoners in Angola should ask the Inmate Counsel Substitute for an application. Prisoners in other prisons should request an application by writing the Case Review Manager at Innocence Project, 4051 Ulloa Street, New Orleans, LA 70119. 

Louisiana Law Help
Automated expungement forms that can be used at all district courts. 

The Advocacy Center
The federal Advocacy and Protection agency for disabled and the elderly. Contact at 800-960-7705 toll-free or at 8325 Oak Street, New Orleans, LA 70118. Services available in English, Spanish and Vietnamese. 
Louisiana Coalition Against Domestic Violence
The federally-designated statewide coalition of shelters, non-residential programs, and individuals working to end domestic violence in Louisiana. They can be reached at PO Box 77308, Baton Rouge, LA 70879 or (888) 411-1333 or (225) 752-1296 or fax at (225) 751-8927.
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
The New Orleans field office is at 1555 Poydras Street, Suite 1900. They can be contacted at 800-669-4000. If an individual goes to the field office directly, they can be interviewed that day but if they are coming in from outside New Orleans, they should call first just to make sure they can be seen.
AIDSLaw of Louisiana Inc.
Free legal services to low-income persons living with HIV and AIDS. 2601 Tulane Ave., Suite 500, New Orleans, LA 70119. Phone: (504) 821-12601. AIDSLaw also has a Baton Rouge office; call (225) 302-5968 for office schedule. 
Project H.E.L.P. (Judge Zainey’s project)
Provides assistance for homeless individuals who have municipal attachments that might be hindering their ability to find housing or employment. They also provide notary services. Open to anyone who is homeless in the state, but clinics are only located in New Orleans, Lafayette, Baton Rouge, and Shreveport. In New Orleans, contact Sherry Dolan at sdolan@bakerdonelson.com for more information.
Gulf Coast Immigration Information Center
This guide is designed to provide legal resources on United States immigration law including access to relevant laws and regulations, specialized online resources, and referrals to immigration attorneys and legal aid organizations in Louisiana. This guide is not designed as an all-inclusive guide to immigration law, and does not provide legal advice. Also available in Spanish.

 

immi from Pro Bono Net
Information on understanding your options, finding legal help, and a learning center for self-represented immigrants and advocates.

 

 

American Immigration Lawyers Association Lawyer Search
An online database of immigration lawyers searchable by state.

 

Lambda Legal
Lambda Legal’s Help Desk provides information and resources regarding discrimination related to sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, and HIV status. May provide legal representation. Fill out the online form for assistance or call the South-Central regional office at 1-866-542-8336.

 

Trans Law Help
An online database of trans-positive legal resources for people living in the United States. The database is organized by state and includes a list of lawyers, notaries and additional legal services who have identified themselves as resources for the trans community.

 

Louisiana Law Help
Automated forms for small claims.
ABA Veterans' Claims Assistance Network

The American Bar Association Veterans’ Claims Assistance Network (ABA VCAN), in close coordination with the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), is providing unrepresented veterans who have pending disability benefits claims with the opportunity to work with lawyers who will help the veterans complete their claims packages for expedited review by the VA—at no cost to the veterans. Click the link above for more information, including an application.

Stand With Dignity Warrant Clinic

Warrant clinics organized by New Orleans Worker's Center for Racial Justice held sporadically in New Orleans to help community members by greatly reducing or waiving municipal fees and fines, clearing municipal warrants, and reinstating suspended driver’s licenses. Contact Anza Becnel, abecnel@nowcrj.org, 504-352-6394 for more information on the next clinic.

Loading ...

Click on a Tab to Find Parish-Specific Legal Information and Assistance

Click on a tab in this box to find parish-specific legal information and assistance. If you are looking for a form and don't see it, make sure to also check the appropriate parish on our Online Forms page

Lafayette Parish Bar Association Volunteer Lawyers 
2607 Johnston Street
Lafayette, LA 70503

337-237-4700 

Lawyer Referral Service - 337-237-4700 

Counsel on Call - every Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. 15 minute informational consultation on any topic. Referrals and assistance with the family law forms available for purchase through the bar also provided.  

Self-Help Center and Law Library - at the bar association. Includes free access to law books and online legal research. Easy-to-use automated online legal forms for a small fee (divorce forms $15, all other forms $10). Open to the public Monday - Thursday from 8:30a.m. to 4:30p.m. and on Fridays from 8:30a.m. to 3:00p.m.

33rd Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 33rd JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.
Central Louisiana Pro Bono Project
3600 Jackson St., Ste. 108
Alexandria, LA 71301
Free legal assistance to those who income-qualify.

Family Justice Center of Central Louisiana

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-448-0884 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

Baton Rouge Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
PO Box 2241
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
225-344-9926
Languages: Spanish

NWLA Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-584-7171 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

26th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 26th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.

Shreveport Bar Foundation Pro Bono Project 
625 Texas Street
Suite 100 
Shreveport, LA 71101 
318-221-8104 

Ask-A-Lawyer - Every 3rd Monday from 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm, no appointment needed. Sometimes has additional uncontested divorce clinics, call for details.

Self-Represented Litigant Kiosk - Assistance with divorce forms provided by appointment.

Shreveport Lawyer Referral Service
PO Box 470
Shreveport, LA 71162
318-222-3643 x1

NWLA Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-584-7171 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

Shreveport Bar Foundation Pro Bono Project 
625 Texas Street
Suite 100 
Shreveport, LA 71101 
318-221-8104 

Ask-A-Lawyer - Every 3rd Monday from 5:30 pm to 8:30 pm, no appointment needed. Sometimes has additional uncontested divorce clinics, call for details.

Self-Represented Litigant Kiosk - Assistance with divorce forms provided by appointment.

Shreveport Lawyer Referral Service
PO Box 470
Shreveport, LA 71162
318-222-3643 x1

NWLA Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-584-7171 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

Lake Charles Public Library and Southwest Louisiana Bar Foundation Clinic
Lake Charles Public Library
301 West Claude Street
Lake Charles, LA 70605

(337) 721-7116

Clinic - Call library for dates and times. Held at library sporadically throughout the year.

14th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 14th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.

Southwest Louisiana Law Center Legal Services and Law Library
1011 Lakeshore Drive
Suite 402
4th Floor, Magnolia Building
Lake Charles, LA 70601
337-436 -3308
 
Sliding Scale Reduced Fee Legal Services - A non-profit law firm that provides sliding scale reduced fee legal services for people that technically do not qualify for free legal aid but cannot afford a private attorney. Fees are typically one-third to one-half that of a private attorney. Fee plans are worked out with each client individually.
 
Law Library - A small free law library open to the public with books, forms, and free Lexis-Nexis access.

Lake Charles Lawyer Referral Service
337-436-2914 
38th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 38th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.

 

Self-Help Legal Clinic
Self-represented litigants are able to receive general information on the divorce process and personal assistance completing court forms from the Southwest Louisiana Bar Foundation at the Cameron Parish Library on 961 Louisiana 384 in Lake Charles. Clinic held monthly - call the library at (337) 598-5950 for more information and details.

NWLA Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-584-7171 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

NWLA Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-584-7171 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

Baton Rouge Bar Association Family Court Self-Help Resource Center
East Baton Rouge Courthouse
300 North Boulevard
Baton Rouge, LA 70801
225-389-4680

Online and Live Self-Help Center - A “live” self-help center offering family-law fill-in-the-blank petitions, simple procedural forms, referrals, assistance with Louisiana LawHelp, and informational materials prepared by the court and LSBA. A full-time (non-attorney) employee of the Baton Rouge Bar Association helps SRLs with any administrative issues. Tuesday & Thursday 10am-2pm.

If you can't make it to the self-help center in-person, you can also obtain the forms for free online. 

Baton Rouge Bar Foundation Pro Bono Project 
541 Main Street 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 
225-344-4803 

Thirst for Justice Walk-In Clinic - Wednesday and Thursday 3-5 at St. Vincent DePaul, 220 St. Vincent Depaul St in BR. Civil matters only.

Ask-a-Lawyer - 2-3 times a month at various public locations (libraries, senior centers, Catholic Charities, etc). Call for details and dates.

Baton Rouge Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
PO Box 2241
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
225-344-9926
Languages: Spanish
Baton Rouge Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
PO Box 2241
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
225-344-9926
Languages: Spanish
35th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 35th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.

Family Justice Center of Central Louisiana

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-448-0884 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

NWLA Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-584-7171 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

Self-Help Center at the 24th JDC
200 Derbigny St.
Gretna, LA 70053
504-364-2900
Live self-help services on Tuesday and Thursday 10 a.m. - noon on the 2nd floor, coordinated by the Pro Bono Project.

 

The Pro Bono Project

935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340
New Orleans, LA 70112
504-581-4043
Fax: 504-566-0518

NOTE: Clinics offered can change - call the Pro Bono Project directly to confirm time and place.

Senior Center Clinics - offered in Jefferson and St. Bernard, call the Pro Bono Project for time and place, or check their website.

Homeless Advocacy - New Orleans Mission, 1130-40 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd., Third Tuesday, 1:00 P.M. to 2:00 P.M.

Provisional Custody by Mandate Clinic - Pro Bono Project, 935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340, New Orleans, every Thursday, 1 p.m.-3 p.m.

Consumer and Bankruptcy Clinics -
Cornerstone United Methodist
5276 Bullard Avenue, New Orleans
Third Thursday of the month 10 a.m.-noon

and

St. Peter Claver Ujima Center
1019 N. Prieur Street, New Orleans
Last Saturday of the first month of eac Quarter (April, July, October 2019) noon-2 p.m.

Succession Clinic - at Southeast Louisiana Legal Services, 1340 Poydras Street, Suite, 600, New Orleans, 1st, 2nd, and 4th Tuesdays every month from 1:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m

New Orleans Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
650 Poydras Street
Suite 1505
New Orleans, LA 70130
504-561-8828
Languages: French, Spanish, Portuguese
Special Panels: Reduced Fee Panel 
Lafayette Parish Bar Association Volunteer Lawyers 
2607 Johnston Street
Lafayette, LA 70503

337-237-4700 

Lawyer Referral Service - 337-237-4700 

Counsel on Call - every Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. 15 minute informational consultation on any topic. Referrals and assistance with the family law forms available for purchase through the bar also provided.  

Self-Help Center and Law Library - at the bar association. Includes free access to law books and online legal research. Easy-to-use automated online legal forms for a small fee (divorce forms $15, all other forms $10). Open to the public Monday - Thursday from 8:30a.m. to 4:30p.m. and on Fridays from 8:30a.m. to 3:00p.m.

Family Justice Center of Acadiana

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 337-210-5986 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

17th Judicial District Court Self-Help Center
Second and fourth Wednesday of every month, 10 am-2pm, free help filling out legal forms for use at the 17th JDC and brief legal advice. Services coordinated by SLLS and the 17th JDC

 

17th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 17th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, and court procedure (same forms also available at the self-help center). 
21st Judicial District Court Legal Information and Forms
Free legal forms for use at the 21st JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.

 

Automated Uncontested Divorce Forms
For use only in Livingston Parish. 

Baton Rouge Bar Association Lawyer Referral Information Service
PO Box 2241
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
225-344-9926
Languages: Spanish
Madison Parish Clerk of Court Forms
Free legal forms for use at the 6th JDC. Includes divorce, protective orders, and court procedure.
4th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 4th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, expungement, setting aside a conviction, and court procedure.
10th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 10th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.
Self-Help Center at the Civil District Court
421 Loyola Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70112
504-581-4043
Live self-help services available on first floor at Orleans Parish Civil District Court (421 Loyola Ave.). Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, 9 a.m. - noon. Coordinated by the Pro Bono Project.

The Pro Bono Project

935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340
New Orleans, LA 70112
504-581-4043
Fax: 504-566-0518

NOTE: Clinics offered can change - call the Pro Bono Project directly to confirm time and place.

Senior Center Clinics - offered in Jefferson and St. Bernard, call the Pro Bono Project for time and place, or check their website.

Homeless Advocacy - New Orleans Mission, 1130-40 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd., Third Tuesday, 1:00 P.M. to 2:00 P.M.

Provisional Custody by Mandate Clinic - Pro Bono Project, 935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340, New Orleans, every Thursday, 1 p.m.-3 p.m.

Consumer and Bankruptcy Clinics -
Cornerstone United Methodist
5276 Bullard Avenue, New Orleans
Third Thursday of the month 10 a.m.-noon

and

St. Peter Claver Ujima Center
1019 N. Prieur Street, New Orleans
Last Saturday of the first month of eac Quarter (April, July, October 2019) noon-2 p.m.

Succession Clinic - at Southeast Louisiana Legal Services, 1340 Poydras Street, Suite, 600, New Orleans, 1st, 2nd, and 4th Tuesdays every month from 1:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m

New Orleans Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
650 Poydras Street
Suite 1505
New Orleans, LA 70130
504-561-8828
Languages: French, Spanish, Portuguese
Special Panels: Reduced Fee Panel 

Legal Aid Bureau
1546 N. Broad Street
New Orleans, LA 70119
504-324-6706 
 
Legal aid services available for clients who financially qualify.

Loyola Law School Clinics

7214 St. Charles Avenue
Campus Box 902
New Orleans, LA 70118
(504) 861-5590

Legal aid clinics available for clients who financially qualify in Criminal DefenseCommunity Justice, Immigration LawFamily LawWorkplace Justice,  Environmental Policy, Advocacy, Technology and Legal Innovation, and Children's Rights.

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services Housing Clinic at the HANO HCVP Office
4100 Touro Street
New Orleans, LA 70122
504-529-1000

Every Thursday from 1:45 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. Housing issues only.

Greater New Orleans Fair Housing Action Center
404 S. Jefferson Davis Pkwy
New Orleans, LA 70119
(504) 596-2100

Assistance filing complaints for clients who have experienced discrimination in the housing market. 

Justice and Accountability Center 
4035 Washington Ave. 
Suite 203
New Orleans, LA 70125
(504) 322-4050

Monthly clinics in conjunction with the Orleans Parish Public Defenders to assist people seeking expungements. Call 504-821-8101 for more information.

Stand With Dignity Warrant Clinic

Warrant clinics organized by New Orleans Worker's Center for Racial Justice held sporadically in New Orleans to help community members by greatly reducing or waiving municipal fees and fines, clearing municipal warrants, and reinstating suspended driver’s licenses. Contact Anza Becnel, abecnel@nowcrj.org, 504-352-6394 for more information on the next clinic.

New Orleans Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call (504) 592-4005 or the 24 hour crisis line (504) 866-9554 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

4th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 4th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, expungement, setting aside a conviction, and court procedure.

Family Justice Center of Ouachita Parish

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call  318.998.6030 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

25th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 25th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services at the Plaquemines Community Care Center
115 Keating Drive
Belle Chasse, LA 70037
SLLS Harvey: 504-374-0977
Plaquemines Community Care Center: 504-393-5750
Outreach - on an as-needed basis.

The Pro Bono Project

935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340
New Orleans, LA 70112
504-581-4043
Fax: 504-566-0518

NOTE: Clinics offered can change - call the Pro Bono Project directly to confirm time and place.

Senior Center Clinics - offered in Jefferson and St. Bernard, call the Pro Bono Project for time and place, or check their website.

Homeless Advocacy - New Orleans Mission, 1130-40 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd., Third Tuesday, 1:00 P.M. to 2:00 P.M.

Provisional Custody by Mandate Clinic - Pro Bono Project, 935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340, New Orleans, every Thursday, 1 p.m.-3 p.m.

Consumer and Bankruptcy Clinics -
Cornerstone United Methodist
5276 Bullard Avenue, New Orleans
Third Thursday of the month 10 a.m.-noon

and

St. Peter Claver Ujima Center
1019 N. Prieur Street, New Orleans
Last Saturday of the first month of eac Quarter (April, July, October 2019) noon-2 p.m.

Succession Clinic - at Southeast Louisiana Legal Services, 1340 Poydras Street, Suite, 600, New Orleans, 1st, 2nd, and 4th Tuesdays every month from 1:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m

Baton Rouge Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
PO Box 2241
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
225-344-9926
Languages: Spanish

9th Judicial District Self-Help Center
9th JDC Courthouse
700 Murray Street
Alexandria, LA 71301
318-473-8153

  • “Live” Self-Help Resource Center offering family-law fill-in-the-blank petitions, simple procedural forms, referrals, and informational materials prepared by the court and LSBA. Second Friday of each month, noon - 2 pm.
  • The 9th J.D.C. also provides a customized self-help website with free forms and legal information. 

 

Central Louisiana Pro Bono Project
3600 Jackson St., Ste. 108
Alexandria, LA 71301
318-449-9778

Free legal assistance to those who income-qualify.

 

Family Justice Center of Central Louisiana

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-448-0884 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

NWLA Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-584-7171 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

NWLA Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-584-7171 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

The Pro Bono Project

935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340
New Orleans, LA 70112
504-581-4043
Fax: 504-566-0518

NOTE: Clinics offered can change - call the Pro Bono Project directly to confirm time and place.

Senior Center Clinics - offered in Jefferson and St. Bernard, call the Pro Bono Project for time and place, or check their website.

Homeless Advocacy - New Orleans Mission, 1130-40 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd., Third Tuesday, 1:00 P.M. to 2:00 P.M.

Provisional Custody by Mandate Clinic - Pro Bono Project, 935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340, New Orleans, every Thursday, 1 p.m.-3 p.m.

Consumer and Bankruptcy Clinics -
Cornerstone United Methodist
5276 Bullard Avenue, New Orleans
Third Thursday of the month 10 a.m.-noon

and

St. Peter Claver Ujima Center
1019 N. Prieur Street, New Orleans
Last Saturday of the first month of eac Quarter (April, July, October 2019) noon-2 p.m.

Succession Clinic - at Southeast Louisiana Legal Services, 1340 Poydras Street, Suite, 600, New Orleans, 1st, 2nd, and 4th Tuesdays every month from 1:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m

New Orleans Bar Association LRS
650 Poydras Street Suite 1505
New Orleans, LA 70130
504-561-8828
Languages: French, Spanish, Portuguese
Special Panels: Reduced Fee Panel

29th Judicial District Court Access to Justice Center
Free brief legal advice and information at St. Charles Parish C.A.R.E., 171 Keller Street in Hahnville. Open to all self-represented litigants, no appointment needed on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays 9 am - 2 pm. Open by appointment only, Mondays, Wesnesdays, and Thursdays 2:30pm-4:30pm. Provides free legal information and forms. For more information, call: (985) 331-3034 or email: StCharlesATJ@slls.orgServices coordinated by SLLS and the 29th JDC

 

29th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 29th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.
21st Judicial District Court Legal Information and Forms
Free legal forms for use at the 21st JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.

Automated Uncontested Divorce Forms
For use only in St. Helena Parish. 

Ask-A-Lawyer Legal Clinic
Live self-help services available at the St. John the Baptist Parish Library every other month. Services coordinated by SLLS and the St. John the Baptist Parish Library. Call (985) 652-6857 for details or check the library calendar

 

40th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms and legal information for use at the 40th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.
Self-Help Center
Live self-help services available at 1005 Cleveland Street in Franklinton on the 2nd and 4th Mondays of each month from 9 a.m. - noon and at 701 N. Columbia St in Covington on the 1st and 3rd Mondays of each month, 9 a.m. - noon. (Forms available at both locations Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.). Services coordinated by SLLS and the 22nd JDC

Representing Yourself in the 22nd Judicial District Court
Free legal forms for use at the 22nd JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, living will, protective and restraining orders, medical power of attorney, expungement, and court procedure, along with other resources for representing yourself.

Automated Uncontested Divorce Forms
For use only in St. Tammany Parish. 

The Pro Bono Project

935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340
New Orleans, LA 70112
504-581-4043
Fax: 504-566-0518

NOTE: Clinics offered can change - call the Pro Bono Project directly to confirm time and place.

Senior Center Clinics - offered in Jefferson and St. Bernard, call the Pro Bono Project for time and place, or check their website.

Homeless Advocacy - New Orleans Mission, 1130-40 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd., Third Tuesday, 1:00 P.M. to 2:00 P.M.

Provisional Custody by Mandate Clinic - Pro Bono Project, 935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340, New Orleans, every Thursday, 1 p.m.-3 p.m.

Consumer and Bankruptcy Clinics -
Cornerstone United Methodist
5276 Bullard Avenue, New Orleans
Third Thursday of the month 10 a.m.-noon

and

St. Peter Claver Ujima Center
1019 N. Prieur Street, New Orleans
Last Saturday of the first month of eac Quarter (April, July, October 2019) noon-2 p.m.

Succession Clinic - at Southeast Louisiana Legal Services, 1340 Poydras Street, Suite, 600, New Orleans, 1st, 2nd, and 4th Tuesdays every month from 1:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m

New Orleans Bar Association LRS
650 Poydras Street Suite 1505
New Orleans, LA 70130
504-561-8828
Languages: French, Spanish, Portuguese
Special Panels: Reduced Fee Panel
21st Judicial District Court Legal Information and Forms
Free legal forms for use at the 21st JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.

Automated Uncontested Divorce Forms
For use only in Tangipahoa Parish. 

Self-Help Center
Live self-help services available at first floor of the Courthouse Annex at 7856 West Main Street in Houma on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month from 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.. Services coordinated by SLLS and the 32ndJDC. 

 

32nd Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 32nd JDC. Includes custody, divorce, and court procedure.
Lafayette Parish Bar Association Volunteer Lawyers 
2607 Johnston Street
Lafayette, LA 70503

337-237-4700 

Lawyer Referral Service - 337-237-4700 

Counsel on Call - every Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. 15 minute informational consultation on any topic. Referrals and assistance with the family law forms available for purchase through the bar also provided.  

Self-Help Center and Law Library - at the bar association. Includes free access to law books and online legal research. Easy-to-use automated online legal forms for a small fee (divorce forms $15, all other forms $10). Open to the public Monday - Thursday from 8:30a.m. to 4:30p.m. and on Fridays from 8:30a.m. to 3:00p.m.

Central Louisiana Pro Bono Project
3600 Jackson St., Ste. 108
Alexandria, LA 71301
Free legal assistance to those who income-qualify.
Self-Help Center
Live self-help services, including forms, available at 1005 Cleveland Street in Franklinton on the 2nd and 4thMondays of each month from 9 a.m. - noon and at 701 N. Columbia St in Covington on the 1st and 3rd Mondays of each month, 9 a.m. - noon. (Forms available at both locations Monday-Friday 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.). Services coordinated by SLLS and the 22ndJDC

Representing Yourself in the 22nd Judicial District Court
Free legal forms for use at the 22nd JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, living will, protective and restraining orders, medical power of attorney, expungement, and court procedure, along with other resources for representing yourself.

Automated Uncontested Divorce Forms
For use only in Washington Parish. 

The Pro Bono Project

935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340
New Orleans, LA 70112
504-581-4043
Fax: 504-566-0518

NOTE: Clinics offered can change - call the Pro Bono Project directly to confirm time and place.

Senior Center Clinics - offered in Jefferson and St. Bernard, call the Pro Bono Project for time and place, or check their website.

Homeless Advocacy - New Orleans Mission, 1130-40 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd., Third Tuesday, 1:00 P.M. to 2:00 P.M.

Provisional Custody by Mandate Clinic - Pro Bono Project, 935 Gravier Street, Suite 1340, New Orleans, every Thursday, 1 p.m.-3 p.m.

Consumer and Bankruptcy Clinics -
Cornerstone United Methodist
5276 Bullard Avenue, New Orleans
Third Thursday of the month 10 a.m.-noon

and

St. Peter Claver Ujima Center
1019 N. Prieur Street, New Orleans
Last Saturday of the first month of eac Quarter (April, July, October 2019) noon-2 p.m.

Succession Clinic - at Southeast Louisiana Legal Services, 1340 Poydras Street, Suite, 600, New Orleans, 1st, 2nd, and 4th Tuesdays every month from 1:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m

26th Judicial District Court Self-Help Website
Free legal forms for use at the 26th JDC. Includes custody, divorce, child support, name change, and court procedure.

NWLA Family Justice Center

Community-based services for people and children facing domestic violence and sexual assault issues. Call 318-584-7171 or the 24 hour Louisiana State crisis line (888) 411-1333 for immediate assistance. All services free and confidential.

 

Baton Rouge Bar Foundation Pro Bono Project 
541 Main Street 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802 
225-344-4803 

Thirst for Justice Walk-In Clinic - Wednesday and Thursday 3-5 at St. Vincent DePaul, 220 St. Vincent Depaul St in BR. Civil matters only.

Ask-a-Lawyer - 2-3 times a month at various public locations (libraries, senior centers, Catholic Charities, etc).

Baton Rouge Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
PO Box 2241
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
225-344-9926
Languages: Spanish
Loading ...