Skip to Main Content

Locked Up: A Historical Look at Incarceration in New Orleans and Louisiana: New Orleans

Locations

Criminals, paupers, and debtors were locked up in jails, prisons, and workhouses located around the city. Enslaved peoples were locked up in jails, prisons, and places of business as well.

Pre-Cabildo Buildings

red brick building, Plan and elevation of the New Orleans prison designed by Pierre Baron and drawn by his draftsman Alexandre de Batz. The prison is on the site of the present-day Cabildo on Chartres Street.

"PLAN du Rex de Chausee des Batiments de la Prison, ayant dix Toises de largeur et Treize toises et demi de longeur"

Plan and elevation of the New Orleans prison designed by Pierre Baron and drawn by his draftsman Alexandre de Batz. The prison is on the site of the present-day Cabildo on Chartres Street.

Side view

Side view from Colonial Records Collection, Center for Louisiana Studies, University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Front and rear elevations and floor plans from Colonial Records Collection, Center for Louisiana Studies, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Colonial Louisiana: Early Architectural Drawings

Second Municipality Workhouse

1891 drawing of large workhouse two story doorway gate in a wall. Barred windows on each side.

Entrance Work House May 31st 1891, Historic New Orleans Collection, ID Number: 1983.170.21

1891 drawing work house interior. Tall water cistern stands next to a gate.

Work House May 31st 1891 Interior, Historic New Orleans Collection, ID Number: 1983.170.21

1895 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of the several buildings comprising the police jail and workhouse within a walled half city block.

Vol. 2, Image 76 of Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana. 1895

Photo of Gate, 1916, from Historic New Orleans Collection

Enslaved people

Orleans Parish Prison; Treme, Orleans, Marais, St. Ann

Three story block shaped building, hip roof. leafless trees in front by street.

The Historic New Orleans Collection, Acc. No. 1982.170, Gift of Samuel Wilson, Jr.

sepia photo Interior view of the Orleans Parish prison gallery. In the front gallery the cell doors are closed, while the second gallery the jail cell doors are open. The Historic New Orleans Collection, Acc. No. 2016.0466.6.4.    View of the execution yard at the Old Parish Prison located on the square bounded by North Liberty, Saint Ann, Marais, and Orleans Streets. This photograph was taken after the prison was abandoned. Two sets of four two-toned archways are visible on the right, as well as several open jail cells. On the far wall, there is a large gated archway on the ground and an open door leading to a small balcony

The Historic New Orleans Collection, Acc. No. 1985.126.41.

old parish prison

Image 24 of Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana. 1885; Vol. 2

Third Municipality Workhouse

1896 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of the washington market. One story rectangle.

Corner of Louisa and Chartres, Washington Market

Sanborn map, 1895

 

Parish Prison 1895, Gravier, Basin, Tulane, Franklin

Sepia tone photo of old parish courthouse and prison. Large gothic brick structure. Many spires, one very tall clock tower.

The Picayune's guide to New Orleans, New Orleans, La., The Picayune, 1903. HathiTrust

1895 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map plan of the parish prison and the criminal court house

1895; Vol. 2, Image 11 of Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana. Library of Congress

House of Detention; Tulane, Broad, Gravier, S.White

Three story building, dormer windows. Looks like 3 buildings with cupolas. Telephone poles and car in street. at 2700 Tulane Avenue at corner of South Broad Street; Mid City.

The Historic New Orleans Collection, Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Bernard, Acc. No. 1984.112.234.

1908 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map, house of detention. Looks like 3 buildings connected by walkways.

Image 82 of Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana. 1908, Vol. 3

 

Cornerstone laid 1901, finished in 1904 after multiple problems, suits, and investigations.

Police stations

Police stations had small jails which held both those arrested for criminal offenses and enslaved people.

Ninth Precinct Police Station and Jail 1900 photo

Old Police Precincts from New Orleans Court Locations

Boys House of Refuge

The old House of Refuge for Juvenile Delinquents, also known as the Boy's House of Refuge, was built in 1849 and located on Metairie Road, between Bienville and Conti streets, New Orleans, Louisiana. 

Frank B. Moore Collection, University of New Orleans