Skip to Main Content

Locked Away: Historical Incarceration of the Insane in Louisiana: New Orleans

Locations

The insane were held at the old Charity hospitals, first in the regular building, then in a dedicated building. They were also locked up in the old Marine Hospital, prisons, and workhouses under deplorable conditions. They were properly housed only in the privately run Louisiana Retreat.

Charity Hospital

engraving of large neo-classical building

Norman's New Orleans and Environs, Benjamin Moore Norman, 1845

Old Charity Hospital

large neo-classical building surrounded by white wall, facing a broad empty street

1867 photograph by Theodore Lilienthal, Wikimedia Commons

Third Municipal Workhouse

Corner of Louisa and Chartres, the Washington Market drawn for Sanborn map, 1895

Corner of Louisa and Chartres, Washington Market

Sanborn map, 1895

 

City Hospital for Mental Diseases

City Hospital for Mental Diseases link

1950 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of the criminal court, jail, and hospital for mental diseases. Corner of Broad and Tulane.

Image 38 of Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from New Orleans, Orleans Parish, Louisiana. 1950

Orleans Parish Prison

sepia photo of three story blockhouse of a prison building

The Historic New Orleans Collection, Acc. No. 1982.170, Gift of Samuel Wilson, Jr.

sepia photo Interior view of the Orleans Parish prison gallery. In the front gallery the cell doors are closed, while the second gallery the jail cell doors are open.  The Historic New Orleans Collection, Acc. No. 2016.0466.6.4.    View of the execution yard at the Old Parish Prison located on the square bounded by North Liberty, Saint Ann, Marais, and Orleans Streets. This photograph was taken after the prison was abandoned. Two sets of four two-toned archways are visible on the right, as well as several open jail cells. On the far wall, there is a large gated archway on the ground and an open door leading to a small balcony

The Historic New Orleans Collection, Acc. No. 1985.126.41.

Second Municipality Workhouse

1891 drawing of large workhouse two story doorway gate in a wall. Barred windows on each side.

Entrance Work House May 31st 1891, Historic New Orleans Collection, ID Number: 1983.170.21

1891 drawing work house interior. Tall water cistern stands next to a gate.

Work House May 31st 1891 Interior, Historic New Orleans Collection, ID Number: 1983.170.21

1851

Mayor A. D. Crossman wrote to Governor Walker in December 1851 complaining that because of lack of space at Jackson patients legally committed to the asylum had to be held for indefinite periods of time at Charity Hospital, local prisons and workhouses.  (from dissertation)

Corner of Marigny and Old Levee

sepia photo of large plantation building, second floor veranda, and dormer windows, corner Marigny and old Levee

Marshall Dunham Photograph Album, Mss. 3241, Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, LSU Libraries, Baton Rouge, La.

Old Marine Hospital (iron building)

Old Marine Hospital, large building surrounded by iron balconies. Has two domes. On site of present day Criminal court, corner of Broad and Tulane. Dirt roads with water filled ditches in front.

1867 photograph by Theodore Lilienthal, Wikimedia Commons

Louisiana Retreat

louisiana retreat sketch. Henry Clay Avenue. Louisiana Retreat, building. New Orleans, LA. Elevation on Henry Clay Avenue, and side elevation showing section with interior door details. Albert Diettel and Son, architects. Notarized, James Wolf, January 30, 1888

Henry Clay Avenue. Louisiana Retreat, building. New Orleans, LA. Elevation on Henry Clay Avenue, and side elevation showing section with interior door details. Albert Diettel and Son, architects. Notarized, James Wolf, January 30, 1888

Sylvester Labrot, Jr. Collection, Southeastern Architectural Archive, Tulane University Special Collections, Howard-Tilton Memorial Library