Reports of the State Librarian, usually published as part of the Report of the Secretary of State, give a glimpse of library activity for that year. Catalogues of the State Library also show us what happened each year.
The Librarian distributed copies of Louisiana government documents, and acquired new works through purchases and trades. In the first decades of the library, large numbers of books which were lent to members of the legislature were never returned. Hundreds of books a year were lost in this way.
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State, in 1840 House Journal, page 66
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State, in 1841 House Journal, page 46
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State, in 1842 House Journal, page 47
Joint Committee reports back on buildings, in 1843 House Journal see pages 31, 44 (49/152, 62/152)
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State, in 1847 senate journal, page 27. (51/153) In prior year 222 books borrowed, not returned.
Report on the State Library and Archives by the Secretary of State, in 1848 senate journal, page 16
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State., 1849-1850. Includes transactions of the State Librarian from 1846-1849, under the direction of Hon. Charles Gayarré, Secretary of State.
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State. 1853. Purchases, sales, loans, exchanges, etc.
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State. 1856. Purchases, sales, loans, exchanges, etc.
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State. 1858. Purchases, sales, loans, exchanges, etc.
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State. 1865. Losses from fire and war. 24,000 volumes left; 6,000 legal, 9,000 government. Description of suitable quarters, desire to move to University location. Franking stopped in 1863, no money for shipping books.
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State. 1866 (Incompl.).
REPORTS OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE AND THE STATE LIBRARIAN TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA. 1867 (same as above, but complete)
Report on the State Library by the Secretary of State. 1870. (incomplete) No thefts due to new rule on lending.
Biennial report of the Secretary of State of the ... 1880/82 Rooms in Capitol in Baton Rouge not Ready, so library will stay in new Orleans.
Biennial report of the Secretary of State of the ... 1884/86. Over 20,606 books, of which over 5,000 are law books.
Biennial report of the Secretary of State of the ... 1886/87. Over 40,000 volumes
Biennial report of the Secretary of State of the ... 1894/96. Library still housed in dilapidated Tulane University building. Includes report of State Library. Total book count: 50,524.
Catalogue of the Louisiana state library, 1869. Albert Bovee, state librarian. Includes rules and regulations of the library.
Catalogue of the Louisiana State Library, 1877. Arranged by L.A. MacDonald, State librarian. Includes rules and regulations of the library. Has item location information.
Catalogue of the State Library of the State of Louisiana, up to March 31, 1886 / Mrs. Laure Bayhi, State Librarian. Includes rules and regulations of the library. Has item location information.
Catalogue of the Louisiana State Library, Law Department 1905 compiled by Albertine F. Phillips. Includes library rules.
ANNUAL REPORT OF THE STATE LIBRARIAN TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY STATE OF LOUISIANA. 1877 located at law school, Tulane. In dire need of funding.
ANNUAL REPORT OF THE STATE LIBRARIAN TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY. STATE OF LOUISIANA. 1878. Still no regular appropriation to buy books.
REPORT OF THE STATE LIBRARY OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA FOR THE TWO YEARS, ENDING MAY 1, 1888. Funding needed
REPORT OF State Librarian. JULY, 1888 TO APRIL, 1890 Funding needed
BIENNIAL REPORT OF THE STATE LIBRARIAN TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY. JULY 1st, 1890, TO MAY 1st, 1892 More funding needed
BIENNIAL REPORT OF THE STATE LIBRARIAN TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY. AUGUST 10, 1892 TO MAY 1, 1894 Need funding. Need new location, as Tulane building will be demolished soon.
REPORT OF STATE LIBRARIAN 1900
BIENNIAL REPORT OF THE STATE LIBRARIAN OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY 1902 Funding needed. No room for collection. Insufficient books to trade with other states.
BIENNIAL REPORT OF The State Librarian OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY. 1904 Need space, currently location will be demolished. Space in planned new Courthouse location?
BIENNIAL REPORT OF THE STATE LIBRARIAN FOR STATE OF LOUISIANA FOR THE YEARS 1904-1905 Now at Johnson building.
Report of State Librarian April 30 1908 Albertine F. Phillips
1980 Report by Head Librarian Harriet Lemann
1981 Report by Head Librarian Carol Billings
1982 Report by Head Librarian Carol Billings
1984 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1985 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1986 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1987 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1988 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1989 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1990 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1991 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1992 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1993 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1994 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1995 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1996 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1997 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1998 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
1999 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
2000 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
2001 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
2002 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
2003 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
2004 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
2005 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
2006 Report by Director of the Library Carol Billings
2007 Report by Director of the Library Georgia Chadwick
2008 Report by Director of the Library Georgia Chadwick
2009 Report by Director of the Library Georgia Chadwick
2010 Report by Director of the Library Georgia Chadwick
2011 Report by Director of the Library Georgia Chadwick
2012 Report by Director of the Library Georgia Chadwick
2013 Report by Director of the Library Georgia Chadwick
2014 Report by Director of the Library Georgia Chadwick
2015 Report by Director of the Library Georgia Chadwick
2016 Report by Director of the Library Miriam Childs
2017 Report by Director of the Library Miriam Childs
2018 Report by Director of the Library Miriam Childs
2019 Report by Director of the Library Miriam Childs
2020 Report by Director of the Library Miriam Childs
