Skip to Main Content

Louisiana Legislative History Research: Information Locations

An informational guide to help you find the sources of information on the history of Louisiana's laws and proposed laws, including resources in both print and online.

Holdings

Law Library of Louisiana holdings*:

Item

Dates

Format

 

Acts

1804-present

Paper, microfiche, library database;
some years available free online

 

Bills

1952-1973

Microfilm

 

Calendars*

1812-present

Paper

 

Journals*

1812-present

Paper;
some years available free online

 

Résumés

1970-present

Paper

 

Statutes

1816-present

Paper, microfilm, library database - also available free at legis.la.gov

 

* Please call the library first if you are seeking calendars or journals before 1900, as there are some years missing

from the collection. 

 

Bill holdings in the state*:

Year

Location

1997-present               

State legislature's website - legis.la.gov

1974-1986           

Tulane Law Library

1970-1997                  

House and Senate

1952-2013                

Loyola Law Library

1952-2013                

LSU Libraries 

1952-1997                  

New Orleans Public Library 

1952-1973                  

Law Library of Louisiana 

1852-present              

Louisiana State Archives

* Please call the library/archives first to make sure it has bills from the year you are seeking, as the holdings are
incomplete. 

Other useful state legislative history information:        

Video from House floor and committee meetings - 1999-present

Video from Senate floor and committee meetings - 2008-present

Audio of House committee meetings from State Archives - 1981-2000

Audio of Senate committee meetings
          1983-1997 - from State Archives
          1999-2007 - from Senate (very limited collection)

Committee meeting minutes from House and Senate - 
          1970-present - print minutes from both chambers (collection not complete until ~1985)            
          ~2016-present - minutes available online from the House

West's Louisiana Statutes Annotated notes, at the Law Library of Louisiana and other libraries - 1950-present

Louisiana State Law Institute meeting minutes and other Law Institute information - 1939-present

Historical newspapers and law journals, available online at the Law Library of Louisiana and other libraries - 
all dates

 

Contacts

Important contact information when compiling a legislative history:

Law Library of Louisiana: 504-310-2400, toll-free in La. 800-820-3038

Senate: 225-342-8898

Note: You must have Senate bill number before calling. Senate bill number can be found at the top of the act.

House: 225-342-7259

Note: You must have House bill number before calling. House bill number can be found at the top of the act.

La. State Law Institute: 225-578-0200

La. State Archives:   225-922-1209 

Loyola Law Library504-861-5545

LSU Libraries225-578-5652

Tulane Law Library504-865-5952

New Orleans Public Library504-529-7323

Other useful phone numbers:

Public Update Legislative Service
800-256-3793 (PULS Line) 
This line is free for Louisiana callers outside of Baton Rouge. Legislative staff will answer questions. 

To contact lawmakers in the House225-342-6945; (fax) 225-342-8336

To contact lawmakers in the Senate225-342-2040; (fax) 225-342-0617

State Library of Louisiana, Louisiana Section:
 225-342-4914