These websites are free to use, but some may require you to create a free account.
Access to Archival Databases (AAD) From the National Archives
AfriGeneas AfriGeneas provides resources, leadership, promotion and advocacy for the mutual development and use of a system of genealogy for researching African related ancestry.
Cyndi's List Cyndi's List has been a genealogy research site for more than 20 years. Cyndi's List is free for everyone to use and it is meant to be a starting point when researching online.
FamilySearch FamilySearch, from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, is a nonprofit family history organization dedicated to connecting families across generations.
Find A Grave Search or browse cemeteries and grave records for every-day and famous people from around the world.
GenForum This site bills itself as "the ultimate research resource with over 14,000 online forums devoted to genealogy, including surnames, U.S. states, countries, and general topics."
GENUKI Provides a virtual reference library of genealogical information of particular relevance to the UK and Ireland. It is a non-commercial service, maintained by a charitable trust and a group of volunteers.
JewishGen Free, easy-to-use genealogy website features tens of millions of records, research tools, and other resources to help those with Jewish ancestry research and find family members.
RootsWeb This database is now part of Ancestry.com
The Statue of Liberty Ellis Island Foundation The Ellis Island Archive contains the passenger lists of more than 51 million immigrants, passengers, and crew members who came through Ellis Island and the Port of New York from 1892 to 1957.
USGenWeb Archives An archive of census records transcribed by volunteers.
USGenWeb Project The main site provides links to state sites, which, in turn, provide gateways to the counties.
