The Law Library has both physical materials and access to online databases that are helpful in genealogical research. However, you must come into the library to use these resources. We also have this handy pathfinder for those looking for biographical information on Louisiana judges.
The law library has many biographies of legal figures from Louisiana. The library also collects a large number of books on local history, locations, and memoirs. Here is a sample:
Courthouse research for family historians : your guide to genealogical treasures / by Christine Rose
The African American national biography / editors in chief, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Evelyn Brooks-Higginbotham
Who was who in America
Please take a look at our online catalog to explore our collection.
Cohen's New Orleans Directory: including Jefferson City, Carrollton, Gretna, Algiers and McDonogh (1852, 1854-1855 paper and/or microform)
Duncan & Co.'s New Orleans business directory for 1865 : with a complete list of the trade stores in the country parishes, and an appendix containing a list of the federal, state and city officers, civil and military / compiled by William Baker. (1865 paper)
Edwards' annual directory to the ... city of New Orleans (1870-1873 paper and microform)
Gardner's New Orleans directory for ... : including Jefferson City, Gretna, Carrollton, Algiers and McDonogh (1859, 1861, 1866, 1868, 1869 paper
Graham's Crescent City directory for 1867: embracing also, a separate record of Jefferson City, Carrollton, Algiers, Gretna, and Milneburg ... Comp. and pub. by L. Graham .. (paper)
Hellier's New Orleans business directory for 1860 and '61 [microform] : with commercial directory of businessmen of New York City
New Orleans business directory, 1858; with a map; to be published annually; containing the name and address of every business or professional man in the city.../ compiled and arranged by W.H. Rainey (paper and microform)
[New Orleans city directories for the period 1805-1860] [microform]
New-Orleans directory for 1841; made by the United States deputy marshals, (while taking the late census.) Containing the names, professions and residences of all the inhabitants of the city and suburbs of New Orelaans, Lafayette and Algiers. Pub. by Michel & Co. .. (paper and microform)
Soards' New Orleans city directory [1874-1935 microform]
The Law Library of Louisiana has a subscription to the "Louisiana Historical Archives", a newspaper database from NewsBank. It contains 34 newspapers, with coverage ranging in date from 1803 to 2013. Most of the newspapers were published in New Orleans and Baton Rouge, but three are from Alexandria, and one is from St. Francisville. Because of our subscription terms, the database must be accessed from here in the building.
