Skip to Main Content

New Orleans Court Locations: old Police Precincts

From creation to the present

Lagniappe

The information on this page is incomplete. Police districts changed all too frequently for me to track them all. Just think of it as lagniappe.

links to photos of police stations

1st District, Tulane and and Basin, 1905

     https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/2005.0267.1.1/first-precinct-station

     https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/2005.0267.1.5/policemen-from-the-first-precinct

     https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/MSS%20571.7.40.152/nopd-station---1st-district

     http://louisianadigitallibrary.org/islandora/object/hnoc-p15140coll1%3A1009

     http://louisianadigitallibrary.org/islandora/object/hnoc-p15140coll1%3A1112

     http://louisianadigitallibrary.org/islandora/object/hnoc-p15140coll1%3A1113

     

1st  District Rampart 

     1951  https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/1979.325.1193/first-district-police-station

     1979 https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/1988.110.1/1st-dist.-police-station-%5B1979-new-orleans-police-department-strike%5D

     1985 Rather than renovating, officials decided to demolished the 1950 building, and erect a new building.

2nd district  1882 "Pakenay Station" - Terpsichore and Robin Streets   

https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/1974.25.25.221/police-officers-and-men-of-the-second-precinct-police-station-%22pakenay-station%22---terpsichore-and-robin-streets

3rd Precinct

https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/1994.41.1/historic-new-orleans-collection-at-410-chartres-street

5th district 1928  

https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/1979.325.1194/5th-district-n.o.p.d.-station

Old 6th Precinct Police Station, 2229 Rousseau Street - around 1895. 

https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/1974.25.3.680/rousseau-street-police-station-with-the-black-maria

   https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/1981.247.1.1639/egyptian-revival-police-station%2C-number-one.--under-a-transformed-egyptian-sun%2C-number-one

     http://louisianadigitallibrary.org/islandora/object/hnoc-lph%3A1368

     http://louisianadigitallibrary.org/islandora/object/state-lwp%3A1639

     Was a city sign shop, as reported in 1947 and 1956 news articles.

     Sept 1, 1943 to June 30, 1945   used as Coast Guard volunteer port security watch building.

601 St. Charles police station

https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/1982.167.7/gallier-hall-and-police-station   

Police Headquarters - Elks Place  

https://catalog.hnoc.org/web/arena/search#/entity/thnoc-archive/2003.0182.410/%5Bpolice-headquarters%2C-elks-place%5D

Rules and Regulations

http://louisianadigitallibrary.org/islandora/object/lsu-sc-p15140coll10%3A7965

Rules and regulations for the general government of the police department of the city of New Orleans 1856

219 Morgan Street, Algiers

View of the Duverje plantation house, formerly located at 225 Morgan Street in the Algiers neigborhood on the west bank of the river. The house was built around 1812 for Bathelemy Duverje and was destroyed by fire in 1895. Several men stand in front of the residence and adjoining buildings and houses are visible.

courtesy of The Historic New Orleans Collection

Rousseau, Sixth Precinct

black and white 1909 Sanborn map of buildings.

Sanborn New Orleans 1908-1909 vol. 4, 1909, Sheet 352

501 N. Rampart

Exterior view of the First District Police Station, a multi-story modern building. Grass, a tree, and shrubbery in foreground.

1902 Locations

First Precinct:  Bounded by Canal, Howard avenue, land boundaries of Eleventh Precinct and S. Broad street. Station house, Criminal Court Building, Tulane Avenue.
Second Precinct:   Bounded by Howard avenue. Felicity road, land boundaries of Eleventh Precinct and S. Broad street. Station house. No. 1403 Chippewa street.
Third Precinct:   Bounded by Canal, Esplanade, N. Rampart and land boundaries of Eleventh Precinct. Station house, 713 Chartres street, near the Cathedral.
Fourth Precinct:   Bounded by Canal, N. Rampart, Esplanade and N. Broad streets. Station house, No. 1304 St. Peter street.
Fifth Precinct:   Bounded by Esplanade avenue, river, lower limits, and rear of the city including Milneburg. Station house, No. 735 Elysian Fields street.
Sixth Precinct:   Bounded by Felicity street and Louisianaavenue, land boundaries of Eleventh Precinct and S. Broad street. Station house, No. 2235 Rousseau street.
Seventh Precinct:   Louisiana avenue, Park avenue, river and S. Broad street. Station house, No. 4313 Magazine street.
Eighth Precinct:   Fifth District, with Gretna as subprecinct. Station house. No. 225 Morgan street.
Ninth Precinct:  Bounded by Park avenue, upper city limits, river and woods. Station house, 8007 Hampson street.
Tenth Precinct:   Bounded by N. and S. Broad, Gentilly, Lake and 17th Street Canal. Station house. New Basin and Metairie Road.
Eleventh Precinct:   Bounded by river front, from Harmony to Louisa streets. Station house, foot of Canal street.
Twelfth Precinct:   Bounded by S. Franklin, New Basin, Toledano, out Toledano to S. Rocheblave, Washington avenue to S. Carrollton avenue, to upper side of New Basin and S. Franklin. Station house, S. Robertson and St. Andrew streets.

1929 Changes

1985 Changes

2000 Locations

1st District:  501 N. Rampart

2nd District:  4317 Magazine Street

3rd District:  1700 Moss Street

4th District:   1348 Richard Street

5th District:   3900 N. Claiborne Ave.

6th District:   2500 Felicity Street

7th District:   10101 Dwyer Road

8th District:   334 Royal Street

Carrollton, Seventh Sub-Police Station

black and white 1893 Sanborn map of buildings.

Sanborn New Orleans 1885-1893 vol. 3, 1887, Sheet 79_b

Carrollton, Ninth District Police

black and white 1909 Sanborn map of buildings at and around McDonogh Number 23 school.

Sanborn New Orleans 1908-1909 vol. 6, 1909, Sheet 597
 
 

1875 Locations