Skip to main content

content

Subscribe to Our Mailing List

Subscribe to the Law Library of Louisiana's low-volume mailing list for our tri-annual newsletter and information on upcoming events.

* indicates required

Explore the archive of De Novo, the tri-annual newsletter of the Law Library of Louisiana

Vol. 14, Issue 1, Winter 2017

Welcome Justice Genovese!

Gerald Mills Recipient of 2016 Award of Excellence

New Exhibit on Lawyers in the Battle of New Orleans

Fall CLEs at the Law Library

History of the Louisiana Bar Exam

Library at Justice Conference

Latest Law Library Announcements

Vol. 14, Issue 2, Spring/Summer 2017

Law Day 2017 on the 14th Amendment - "Transforming American Democracy"

Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society Annual Meeting

Lawyers Without Rights Exhibit and Reception

Legal Education and Assistance Program (LEAP) at Louisiana Library Conference

Unique Books in the Library's Rare Book Room

Bitcoin and Blockchain Technology 

CLE on Infamous 19th Century Murder 

Latest Law Library announcements

Vol. 14, Issue 3, Fall 2017

Librarians at Fall Judges Conference

Southeast Louisiana Legal Services 50th Anniversary

Chief Justice Johnson Honored at Southern University Law Center Anniversary

Angela White-Bazile Receives LSBA Award

Upcoming Free CLEs

CLE on Louisiana Constitutions

Calling All Louisiana Supreme Court Descendants

Farewell to Louis V. de la Vergne

Latest Law Library Announcements 

Vol. 13, Issue 1, Winter 2016

Book Review by E. Phelps Gay of Professor Evelyn Wilson's new book, The Justices of the Supreme Court of Louisiana, 1865-1880

Conducting Legislative Histories with the Poynter Legislative Research Library

New Rare Books in the Law Library

New Exhibit in the Louisiana Supreme Court Museum on Judge Fred J. Cassibry

Fall CLEs at the Law Library

Constitution Day 2015

Latest Law Library Announcements

Vol. 13, Issue 2, Spring/Summer 2016

Law Day 2016 - Miranda: More Than Words

LSBA Establishes New Award in Honor of Chief Justice

Mary Duckert Receives Distinguished Service Award

Chief Justice Inducted into LSU Alumni Hall of Distinction

Spring CLEs at the Law Library

Ravel Law: Changing the Way You View the Law

Georgia Chadwick Retires - Miriam Childs New Director

Announcements

Vol. 13, Issue 3, Fall 2016

Justice Knoll to Retire

New Exhibit on the Civil Code

CLE on Law Library Services

A Report from Rare Books School

Library Welcomes LSU LLM Visitors

Artificial Intelligence in Law Practice

In Memoriam - Louis D. Curet

Law Library Announcements 

Vol. 12, Issue 2, Spring 2015

Welcome Justice Crichton!

Lawyers in the Battle of New Orleans

Early Louisiana Codes Exhibit

2015 Solo & Small Firm Conference

Law Library CLEs at the Court

New Law Library LibGuides

2015 Law Day: Magna Carta

Self-Represented Litigants Workshop at Louisiana Library Association

Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society Website 

Vol. 12, Issue 3, Fall 2015

Chief Justice Johnson Honored by American Bar Association

Justice Hughes Inducted Into Justice Hall of Fame

Visit from Director of Government Publishing Office

Law Librarian Trainings Across Louisiana

Law Library at the Spring Judges Conference 

From Books to Big Data CLE

Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society Welcomes New Board Members

The Prison Law Library: A 14th Amendment Necessity

Law Library Director Wins National Award 

Library Announcements

Vol. 11, Issue 2/3, Spring/Summer 2014

A Portrait Collection First

Louisiana Constitutional Convention CLE

François Gény CLE

New Books Display

Legal Education and Assistance Project (LEAP)

New Book of Note

Louisiana Correctional Institute for Women Resource Fair

Why Every Vote Matters

Library Staff Changes

Vol. 12, Issue 1, Fall 2014

Justice Victory Receives Judicial Award

Workforce Re-entry Program

Bryan Garner and Black's Law Dictionary

Judge Rice Garland CLE

Italian Civil Code Exhibit

Electronic Resources CLE

Codification in Louisiana

Chief Justice Johnson Speaks at National Dental Association Conference

Battle of New Orleans Bicentennial 

LibGuides at the Library

Vol. 10, Issue 2, Spring 2013

A Great Day in Louisiana

Conversations with Chief Justice Fournet

Realizing the Dream: 2013 Law Day!

New Museum Exhibits

2013 Solo & Small Firm Conference

Law Library Changing Hours

Vol. 10, Issue 3, Summer 2013

Bicentennial Milestone

Welcome Fran Norton!

Judge T. Wharton Collens Returns

Law Library's Law Day CLE

Louisiana Supreme Court Archives

Library Summer Interns

Vol. 11, Issue 1, Fall/Winter 2013

Chief's Portrait Unveiling

2013 National Association of Women Judges Conference

Fall Historical Society Events Recap

Judge Tate CLE

Louisiana Court of Appeal, 4th Circuit Exhibit in Museum

Legal Scholar Visits Louisiana

Law Library and Court Special Guests

Law Library on T.V.

Vol. 9, Issue 2, Spring 2012

Portrait of Chief Justice Kimball

Oyez, Oyez, Oyez! The Court at the Cabildo

CLE Programs at the Library

Louisiana Library Association Honors Justice Johnson

Young Man Go West!

The Law and Magic: Book Review

2012 Louisiana State Bar Association Solo & Small Firm Conference

Happy 200th Birthday, Louisiana!

No Courts, No Justice, No Freedom

The Show Just Goes On!

Vol. 9, Issue 3, Summer 2012

Judah Benjamin Lecture at Loyola

Welcome Judges!

Homer A. Plessy Day

WestlawNext at the Law Library

The Library's Bicentennial Acquisitions

French Law Resources in the Library Part II

Vol. 10, Issue 1, Fall/Winter 2012

Portrait of a Justice

Farewell, Chief Justice Kimball

Library to Sponsor Free CLE

Riding Circuit in Natchitoches

An Evening with Justice Holmes

The Louisiana Supreme Court Portrait Collection

Marie Erickson's Retirement

Introducing Gail Bragg!

Vol. 8, Issue 3, Summer 2011

A More Noble Cause

The Library of John Adams

The Boston Massacre Revisited

2011 Summer Interns

Stump the Librarian Parts 1 & 2

National Inventory of Legal Materials

National College of Probate Judges Conference

Threads of Memory Exhibit at the Historic New Orleans Collection

Dixon Correctional Goes to the Dogs

Vol. 9, Issue 1, Fall 2011

E.D. White's Centennial Year

Louisiana State Bar Association Animal Law CLE

The Volstead Act and Prohibition

So Many Books, So Little Time

The Law Library of Louisiana's French Law Collection

Restore the Gulf Coast

Federal Document Civil War Resources

New MLIS Intern

Vol. 7, Issue 3, Winter 2010

Free CLE Program April 15th

Recent Events at the Law Library of Louisiana & Louisiana Supreme Court

An Unusual Gift

Russell B. Long: Master of the Tax Code

Practice-Oriented Materials in the Law Library

Negligent (Pet) Homicide

Library Intern Ning Han

New Orleans Notarial Archives

Annual Meeting of the Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society

Vol. 8, Issue 1, Summer/Fall 2010

New Museum Exhibit: A Century of Endurance

Designing a Courthouse: The Winning Architects

Spotlight on Edwin I. Mahoney

Tout Ensemble: The Vieux Carré and 400 Royal Street

Recent Visitors to the Court

Animal Law Update

Rules and Regulations: Taking Part in the Process

Farewell to Dr. Collins

Vol. 8, Issue 2, Winter/Spring 2010-2011

Welcoming Back Tim Averill

Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society Annual Meeting and Lecture

Upcoming Law Day Exhibit: John Adams

Louisiana Office of State Lands: Historical Land Title Records

New Orleans Diocese Unveils New Online Database

A Half-Day With Bryan Garner

Appeals' Courts Opinions Available Online

150 Years of the Government Printing Office

Serendipity, II

Vol. 7, Issue 1, Summer 2009

A Legacy of Liberty: Celebrating Law Day 2009

Legal Self-Help Section

Public Printer Visits Law Library of Louisiana

Breed-Specific Legislation

Health Care Anyone?

Things Found While Looking for Other Things

A Plaque for Plessy

Free People-Finding Resources

Vol. 7, Issue 2, Fall 2009

Two Free CLE Programs in December

Requiescant in Pace - "May They Rest in Peace"

Supreme Court of Louisiana Historical Society Installs New Officers

Minou's Mine!, Or Pet Custody in Divorce

Treaties on Climate Change

More Abraham Lincoln

The Great Advocate: Étienne Mazureau

Entertainment Law Collection

Vol. 6, Issue 1, Spring 2008

Saying Farewell to Time Averill

New Pathfinder on Louisiana Judges

A Day of Desperation & Madness: The New Orleans Mechanics' Institute Riots, Part I

Library Spotlight on Miriam Childs

Territorial Papers of the U.S.

Who's Using the Library

Electronic Resources in the Law Library

Looking Out on Royal Street

Work/Life Balance in the Legal Profession

Vol. 6, Issue 2, Summer 2008

New Staff Member for the Library

Electronic Resources in the Law Library, Part I

A Day of Desperation & Madness: The New Orleans Mechanics' Institute Riots, Part II

Valuing Companion Animals in Louisiana

The De La Vergne Volume

Father Chief Justice

Library Tours & Visitors: An Opportunity to Share and Learn

Politics Debunked

Vol. 6, Issue 3, Fall/Winter 2008-2009

Chief Justice Catherine D. "Kitty" Kimball

Hail (and Farewell) to the Retiring Chief

Historical Society to Launch Celebration of Women in the Law

Exhibits & More at the Law Library of Louisiana & the Louisiana Supreme Court Museum

Can You Take Your Money to Galatoire's?

Looking Back

Library Visitors: Law Students Use Library for Recovery Effort

Portrait of Justice Fred A. Blanche, Jr., Dedicated

A Celebration of Progress

Vol. 5, Issue 1, Spring 2007

John Magill of the Historic New Orleans Collection on "The French Quarter Before Our Time"

Model of 1915 French Quarter Displayed in Museum

The Legacy of Justice Revius O. Ortique, Jr.

Supreme Court Profile: Nancy Rix

Houston Pro Se Conference

Bobbleheads and The Green Bag

New Acquisitions

Professor and Playwright Prof. Paul R. Baier

Periodicals and Periodical Research in the Law Library

Louisiana Revised Statutes: A Funny Read?

Vol. 5, Issue 2, Summer 2007

New Louisiana Supreme Court Museum Opens on Law Day

Visiting Law Librarians Contribute Thousands of Books to New Orleans Public Schools

A Little Known Treasure in the Collection

Justice Calogero Wins Opperman Award

Loving v. Virginia

The Times-Picayune - All the Way Back

Mary Duckert Chosen for Excellence Award

Deserving of a Prominent Place: John A. Campbell

Joachim Bermudez: Early New Orleans Jurist

Law Library of Louisiana Director Carol Billings to Retire

Vol. 5, Issue 3, Fall 2007

New Library Director Georgia Chadwick

The Historical Archives of the LA Supreme Court

Dr. Hugh Collins Receives Kenner Palmer Award

Periodicals and Periodical Research in the Law Library, Part II

The Slaughterhouse Cases

The Yale Book of Quotations

Link Rot 101

Thomas Semmes

Last Chance to See French Quarter Model Here

Head of Public Services Attends Teaching the Teacher Conference

Vol. 4, Issue 1, Spring 2006

Historic Preservation Law Experts Free CLE

Blame It On Bienville: Flood Control Needed from the Start

Hell and High Water: The Johnstown Flood of 1889

Louisiana Adopts Uniform Construction Code in 2005

Spotlighting Black History

Disaster Preparedness Materials

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs in the Library

Newspapers in the Library

Storm Survivor: New Orleans Public Library

After the Storm: Barbara Blackwell's Odyssey

Vol. 4, Issue 2, Summer 2006

Library Staff Changes Include Promotions for Chadwick and Childs

Harvard's Prof. Arthur Miller to Speak at Free CLE

Catherine Lemann is Named Alaska State Law Librarian

Keeping Up with the Supremes

The U.S. Supreme Court One Hundred Years Ago

American Association of Law Libraries in St. Louis

Billings Receives Distinguished Service Award

From the President of the Friends

Good Ol' Planiol

Constitution Day: Let's Celebrate

Vol. 4, Issue 3, Winter 2006

Louisiana Supreme Court Museum to Open Soon

Two New Librarians Join the Library Staff

New Acquisitions

Want to Explore?

Selection of Portraits from the Supreme Court's Collection

Women Gaining Strength on "The Hill"

Chief Justice Calogero's Portrait Presented to the Court

Louisiana Law Stamps

Celebration of the 400th Anniversary of the Jamestown Settlement Begins

Vol. 3, Issue 3, Spring 2005

Descendants of Legal Luminaries Visit Library

Edouard Bermudez: The Creole Chief Justice

Henry P. Dart: Louisiana Legal Historian

A Fruitful Partnership (The New Louisiana Legal History)

De Novo Spotlight: Supreme Court Records

Special Libraries Association to Meet at Courthouse

Congressional Confirmation Hearings

De Novo Restaurant Review: The Pelican Club

May 1: Law Day

Louisiana Constitutions

Vol. 3, Issue 4, December 2005

"Learning at the Law Library" Free CLE Series

Friends of the Library Reorganize and Incorporate

Historical Society Reorganizes, Elects Officers

Lounging in the Library: Our New Casual Reading Area

Could an Encyclopedia Change the World?

Librarian Janice Shull Retires

American Association of Law Libraries Kicks Off Centennial Celebration

Solutions for "Technostress"

LSU Sea Grant Legal Program

The U.S. Constitution: A Reason to Celebrate

Vol. 3, Issue 1, Fall 2004

Justice Sanda Day O'Connor Speaks at Supreme Court Grand Opening

Moving Days

Electing the President - Read All About It!

Dictionaries - The Most Popular Reference Book in the Library

Dictionaries: Part Deux

Bicentennial of the French Civil Code Exhibit

New Acquisition

New Wireless System

De Novo Restaurant Review: La Boucherie

Vol. 3, Issue 2, Winter 2004

Meeting Sandra Day O'Connor

Remarks by Justice O'Connor

Westlaw Patron Access

Scanning Service Available

De Novo Profile: James Boulware

De Novo Restaurant Review: The Cake Café

Library Acquires the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection

Law Library of Louisiana 150th Anniversary

Vol. 1, Issue 6, January/February 2003

When Are We Moving?

LoisLaw: A Research Alternative

Remembering Chief Justice Dixon

Directory Assistance

Spotlight On: Central Staff

Staff News

Federal Depository Library Highlights

Recent Reference Questions

Heart to Heart Experience

De Novo Email

A New Start

Spanish Treasure in Our Library

Lobby Exhibit Features Landmark Case

Vol. 2, Issue 1, Spring 2003

A Tradition of Free Access for Every Citizen

New Member of the Library Staff

Keeping the Codes

Stump the Librarian

Spotlight On: Civil Staff

Microforms Holdings

Court Corner

Library Rules of Conduct

To Be Read While Lying in a Hammock

Treasures on the New Orleans Public Library 3rd Floor

Preserving Digital Information Challenges Libraries

Vol. 2, Issue 2, Summer 2003

Louisiana Law Librarians Shine at American Association of Law Libraries

De Novo Profile: Charlene Cain

Stump the Librarian

New Law Clerks 2003-2004

Louisiana Practice Series

Diversity Programs at American Association of Law Libraries

A New Edition and New Additions

Adventures of an American Law Librarian in London (and Elsewhere)

My First Conference

Vol. 2, Issue 3, Fall 2003

Budget Cuts and Rising Prices Force Cancelations

De Novo Cutbacks

Federal Depository Library Meetings

De Novo Spotlight: General Counsel

Forms for All Occasions

Fifty Years of Brown

Court Technology Conference

Front Matter: There's a Little Bit of History in Those Pages

Legal Information for the Public - The Maryland Model

Louisiana Book Festival Volunteers

Research Guide Revision

Vol. 2, Issue 4, Winter 2003

Move to Royal Street: Preparing the Collection

Supreme Court Historical Society Welcomes Members

Miriam Childs Recipient of Lucile Elliott Scholarship

National Consumer Law Center Guides

Presidential Papers in the Law Library

This Old Book

Changing Spaces at the Government Printing Office

Thurgood Marshall: American Revolutionary

Vol. 1, Issue 1, March/April 2002

New Law Library Advisory Board Holds First Meeting

1804 Code Napoleon Donated to the Library by Richard Knight

Stump the Librarian

Electronic Resources

Accessing Legislative Information

Government Printing Office Access Explained

Annual Report

Become a Friend

Staff News

Vol. 1, Issue 2, May/June 2002

Library Welcomes Third Graders

Stump the Librarian

Law Day Theme Inspires Lobby Exhibit

Advice for Legal Consumers

Federal Legislative History Information

Associate Director Elected Secretary of American Association of Law Libraries

Recent Acquisitions

Postcards from Royal St.

What's AALL? Do You NOALL?

The Newspaper Collection at the Law Library

Vol. 1, Issue 3, July/August 2002

Law Library at LSBA Meeting

Library Orientation

Stump the Librarian

New Louisiana District Court Rules on the Web

Louisiana Purchase Bicentennial Lecture Series

Useful Louisiana Websites

Back to School

A Binding Experience

State Justice Institute Collection Valuable for the Judiciary

At Your Service - Prisoner Correspondence

Federal Depository Library Highlights

Vol. 1, Issue 4, September/October 2002

Tightening the Budget Belt

NOALL Membership Drive

Stump the Librarian

HeinOnline - The Modern Link to Legal History

The Court Corner at the Library

A Lasting Memorial

The USA Patriot Act - What Can It Mean For Libraries?

A Louisiana Legal History Primer

The Inside Scoop on Inter-Library Loan

State Court Opinions

Federal Depository Library Highlights

Vol. 1, Issue 5, November/December 2002

Early French Sources That Influenced Louisiana Law

Hot Links

Stump the Librarian

Microform Consortium Goes Digital

Patriot Act Teleconference

Staff News

The Dart Collection at the Law Library

What's in a Name?

Court Corner

What Are You Reading?

Another Louisiana Purchase Learning Opportunity

Law for the Layman

Federal Depository Library Highlights

Loading