Skip to main content

content

The Law Library of Louisiana provides free access to all of the databases below in the Supreme Court building at 400 Royal Street. The databases can be accessed at our catalog. They are not available outside of our building, but many of these databases may be available at your local library. 


***ALERT! Due to the library's closure to the public during the COVID19 pandemic, Lexis-Nexis and Thomson Reuters/Westlaw are offering FREE ACCESS to the library's Lexis Advance and Westlaw Edge subscriptions for our public patrons.

Click here to create your FREE temporary user ID for Lexis Advance. The ID will work for 30 days or until October 31, whichever is shorter. If you need help creating the ID, view instructions here.

Click here and enter your email address for your FREE temporary access to Westlaw Edge. Your access will be for 20 hours over 45 days. The email address you use to sign up cannot have been used for free trials in the past. You must select "Government - State or Local" in the "Organization Type" field. If you need further help, view instructions here.

Don't hesitate to contact the library at library@lasc.org or 504-310-2400 if you need further assistance.***

 

FastCase

Free access to federal and state primary law materials including statutes and cases.

 

 

Gale Legal Forms

Search Louisiana-specific forms covering many popular legal topics. Although we make these forms available to the general public, the library staff is prohibited from choosing or suggesting particular forms for use.  Furthermore, library staff cannot help patrons fill out the forms as we are not practicing attorneys.

HeinOnline

Find full-text law review articles, Louisiana Acts, the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations from their inception to the present, session laws from all fifty U.S. states, treaties and agreements, U.S. Attorney General opinions from 1791 through 1982, U.S. Congressional documents, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, and state historical statutes.

Legal Trac

Research partial full-text database with legal articles from 1980 to the present.

 

Lexis Advance

Free access to federal and state statutes and cases, jury instructions, court rules, regulatory codes, state Attorney General opinions, treatises, and the Shepard’s Citations Service.

 

LexisNexis Digital Library

Free access to thousands of volumes of Matthew Bender Elite legal treaties, statutes, and popular deskbooks in easy-to-use eBook formats.

 

 

Louisiana Historical Newspapers

Explore full-text articles in historical Louisiana newspapers like The Times-Picayune, The Daily Picayune, The Advocate, and other Louisiana newspapers from 1790-1989.

                                                                            

19th Century U.S. Historical Newspapers

Pre-1900 full text articles in historical U.S. newspapers.

 

ProQuest Congressional

Review U.S. congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources dating back to the 1800s.

 

‚ÄčThomson Reuters Westlaw

Free access to federal and state statutes (present and historical) and cases, jury instructions, court rules, regulatory codes, state Attorney General opinions, treatises, KeyCite citation service, and many pleading and practice forms.